Clinical, Community, Judicial, Investigative and other services...

Staff of all clinical departments provide their services as honorary consultants at the National Hospital of Sri Lanka (NHSL), De Soysa Hospital for Women (DMH), and the Lady Ridgeway Hospital for Children (LRH). In addition to running the professorial units of these hospitals, they conduct specialised clinics and provide diagnostic services. The Human Genetics Unit is a referral centre for genetic counselling and cytogenetic diagnostics.

The Faculty of Medicine Kidney Transplant Programme begun by the Departments of Surgery and Clinical Medicine continues its pioneering work in collaboration with the Ministry of Health. They performed the first kidney transplant in this country in 1985.

  • They have done over 420 transplants to date.
  • The Department of Surgery established the first Vascular Surgical Unit and first Mammography unit in this country.
  • The Department of Pathology established the immunohistochemistry lab to check for Breast cancer immune Progrestic Markers for the 1st time in Sri Lanka.
  • The Department of Forensic Medicine and Toxicology performs judicial work within the Colombo JMO area.
  • The Departments of Pathology, Microbiology, Parasitology, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, the Renal Research Laboratory of the Department of Clinical Medicine and the Cytogenetics Diagnostic Laboratory of the Human Genetics Unit provides laboratory services which caters to hospitals and clinicians in both the government and the private sector. Some of these are highly specialised tests that are only available in these labs in Sri Lanka.
  • Staff of the Department of Community Medicine takes part in the delivery of health care services in the Kotte MOH area. This department provides training, service and conducts research activities under the Occupational Health Project in collaboration with the Ministry of Health and the Department of Labour.
  • The Malaria Research Unit (MRU) serves as a diagnostic centre for malaria for the Colombo Group of Hospitals. The two malaria research field stations established in Anuradhapura (at the premises of the Anuradhapura General Hospital) and Moneragala (at Mailagama, Sellakataragama) are run by MRU staff. They provide their services to residents in the Anuradhapura and Moneragala districts by assisting in the diagnosis, treatment, follow up and health education in the field of malaria.
  • Staff of the Human Genetics Unit, the only such unit in the country, teaches basic medical genetics to undergraduates of the Faculties of Medicine of the University of Colombo and Kelaniya and to postgraduates on several courses of the PGIM.
  • The Department of Pharmacology provides a drug information service to the medical profession.
  • One of the most significant contributions of the Faculty has been that it has provided staff to the younger Faculties of Medicine of Sri Lanka. Staff of all Departments from time to time act as visiting lecturers and external examiners to these sister Faculties of Medicine. Many have been invited to overseas medical schools as external examiners.